Get afternoon energy with this quick and easy superfood snack…

Are you ready to pack a punch in your afternoon snack?!? I stumbled upon this super easy recipe (from the blog Pocketful of Sugar) for Two Ingredient Cookies which I pinned to my ‘Healthy Eats’ board on Pinterest.  After testing out this simple banana oatmeal recipe and devouring the little guys, my husband and I decided to revamp the recipe a bit to pack in more nutrients and provide even more satiation.  The result was an extra delicious, healthy and nutritious, satisfying, energizing, bite-sized cookie. Intrigued?!? Here’s what you need:

superfood snack ingredients

2 bananas (better when they are super ripe!)
1 cup quick cooking steel cut oats
Chia seeds
Hemp seeds
Pumpkin seeds
Organic, unsweetened, shredded coconut
Almond butter
Cinnamon
Walnuts
Coconut oil (to coat the pan)

The first step is to mix all of the ingredients above in a big ole’ bowl like so…(By the way, I’m not big on measuring so add more of the ingredients you like best and just make sure you have enough ratio of banana and almond butter to get the little guys to stick together)

superfood snack - mixing it up

Using a spoon, mash the bananas and ingredients together until they all stick and appear to be a gooey-like dough…

superfood snack - mashing

Then, place your desired size on a greased cookie sheet (I use coconut oil for taste and as a healthy alternative)…

superfood snack - baking

And last, but not least, bake them for approximately 15 minutes at 350 degrees, and voila! Your snack is served…

superfood snack - eating2

We like to bake these on Sunday, so when Monday morning rolls around (and we are inevitably running late for work), we can throw a few of these nutrient-dense cookies in our work bags to keep us energized and alert throughout the long work day.  What do you snack on during the day?  Any simple, easy grab and go ideas?!?  Please share!

About Claire

Hi! I'm Claire, a licensed interior designer living in a small apartment in Chicago with my cute husband and our independent Shiba Inu (a dingo/fox mix). As a designer, I am in a constant search for interior inspiration as well as budget & eco-friendly ideas. I'm excited to share with you these ideas as well as my creative thoughts on interiors, design, travel, art, food & wine and a little bit of wedding talk ; ). I hope you find my eclectic style and fresh D.I.Y. ideas inspiring. I would love to hear your thoughts and feedback, so please leave comments! Enjoy! xoxo, claire View all posts by Claire

One response to “Get afternoon energy with this quick and easy superfood snack…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 728 other followers

