Uncategorized

Skiing, Sundance & White Spaces (& more snow?!?)

Okay, so yesterday the temperature almost hit 60 degrees, woah! Put away the snow shoes and bring out the swim suits. And yet, as the last bits of snow and ice started to disappear, I found myself…well…missing the snow. Tear. I know it may sound crazy, but after an amazing trip to Park City, Utah, I finally learned one of the great wonders of having snow: skiing. AND, not only that, this little midwestern designer finally learned HOW to ski. And I got the chance to test out those new skills at Deer Valley, Park City and Snow Bird. Lucky me. Did I mention that I got to do this on the same weekend as the Sundance Film Festival?!?

Being in Park City on this particular weekend had some perks (besides the fact that I got the chance to see a few celebs : ). And by perks, I mean that the slopes were EMPTY! Perfect for a gal learning how to hone her new ski skills. So you’re probably thinking, ‘okay, great story and all, but what in the world does this have to do with design?’ WELL, I’m getting to that. While in Utah, we stayed in a beautiful condo in Deer Valley mountain. And the views we woke up to every morning were breathtaking…

And when this Iowan (who really has never seen the top of a mountain, let alone had the chance to ski down one) got to the top of a few mountains, the views everywhere were breathtaking. And white. AND, nothing is a better complement to a breathtaking view than a stunning and simplistic, white space to show it off. So I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to show you all some of my favorite WHITE, and quite (ahem) snow-like, spaces. So go-ahead, throw on a pair of sunglasses (some of these interiors are truly a BRIGHT white) and enjoy!


I LOVE this intricately detailed headboard in the image below. The soft grey is a subtle expression next to the off-white textured walls…

The Margaret Bed from Oly has a similar look and feel and I think would be fabulous in an antiqued-white finish with a light grey linen fabric!


I really like the combination of low brow and high brow finishes and fixtures as is done in some of these spaces. And, a crystal chandelier is an unexpected and unique finish to a light and airy white interior.



I again LOVE the look of an exquisite, crystal chandelier amongst raw and rugged finishings and furniture. And, Rachel Ashwell (the Queen of beautifully designed white spaces) of Shabby Chic designed the effervescent-like chandelier from the picture below. Swoon!

I also love the white Marais A Chairs (designed for Tolix) done in white. It’s a beautiful alternative to the standard metal you usually see. These can be found at Design Within Reach.


In white and neutral spaces, smaller accessories like brightly colored flowers and vases stand out and add the perfect ‘hint’ of color for subtle contrast. I love the use of these soft, vintage-pink, flowering branches set in an aqua vase.

The vase above (from Wisteria) would be a great, budget-friendly substitute for a similar look.


Nothing beats the traditional elegance of an old-fashioned claw-foot soaking tub!

…and, I love the graceful, sweeping lines of the this stately tub from Elements of Design

A few more beautiful spaces…


That’s all I’ve got for now, I hope you enjoyed the simple and stunning WHITE spaces!

P.S. it looks like all of my pining for snow may have worked! Unpredictable Chicago weather strikes again and in looking out my window, it looks like yet another blizzard has struck on this lovely Saturday afternoon :-).

1. Via Domino, 2. Via House Beautiful, 3. Via Country Living, 4. Via House Beautiful, Designer Smith Hanes, Photo Credit Amy Neunsinger, 5. & 6. Via Informal Home Blog (Gardner & Marks), 7.-12. Amy Neunsinger’s Home Via House Beautiful

2 thoughts on “Skiing, Sundance & White Spaces (& more snow?!?)

  1. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this website.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s difficult to get
    that “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appeal.
    I must say you have done a amazing job with this.
    Additionally, the blog loads very quick for me on Safari. Excellent Blog!

Leave a Reply

