Apartment search

Apartment Search

Now that 2012 is in full force, I am already prepping for my next big events. We have a few, fun trips planned, such as another skiing trip to Park City (and this year we scored some movie tickets to Sundance Film Festival, yippee!), I’m sure a few wine tasting trips, and of course some exciting weddings, showers, bachelorette parties to attend.  Although, likely, the most time consuming event (aka – the biggest pain in the b***) will be coming up this spring when we move (to a location yet to be determined).  After spending 3 years in our current apartment, we have accumulated an enormous amount of junk stuff.  And with the help of  all of this stuff, we have grown out of our apartment.  So as we plan for our apartment search this year, we have put together our basic list of requirements: outdoor space, laundry in unit, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, larger kitchen, parking, lots and lots of storage (oh and most importantly, pet friendly!). But I have also been secretively putting together a list of interior indulgences that I am hoping may also be incorporated into our new apartment (a girl can dream right!?!). So below are just a few of the many items on my list–do you think I could find any of this criteria on any of the apartment finder websites?

1. Patterned undermount sinks (how pretty would this be with sleek stone countertops in a bathroom?!?)

Image via

2. Nice outdoor space. And we are not picky.  I will settle for a rooftop terrace like this…

Image via

Or, I suppose a backyard terrace with greenery would be a fine option too…

Image via

And if we can’t afford the first two options, then a cute little balcony like this would do as well…

Image via

3. Herringbone wood floors.  Hmm, I could go with a light color like the space below…

Image via

Image via

Or a dark color.  I just can’t make up my mind on this one…

Image via

4. Decorative kitchen tile + painted cabinets

Image via

Image via

5. Black painted doors and windows (and white walls would be the perfect backdrop for this too!)

Image via

Image via

6. Factory-style windows

Image via

Factory-style windows + decorative kitchen tiles = (double bonus!).  P.S. that light fixture can’t hurt either…

Image via

7. Cedar siding exterior.  Okay, I know this is stretching it a little bit.  Most of our options in the city are either brick walk-ups or concrete high-rises, but I did say this was my dream list…

Image via

8. Hydrangea bushes and flowers

Image via

I will also settle for pretty indoor hydrangea flowers.  If I have to.

Image via

9. Off-white painted walls

Image via

10. Last, but not least, a cozy, wood-burning fireplace (which would be perfect for those cold and windy winter nights)…

Image via

Image via

Oh, and I almost forgot, #11. Sumo was dreaming about our new apartment having some special built-ins… (a pup can dream can’t she?!?)

Leave a Reply

