food and wine · Picnics

Picnicking

At my future sister-in-laws wedding shower over the weekend (which was very fun by the way!), she got this adorable picnic basket from Pottery Barn.

Isn’t it cute!?! Later on that day, when I drove with my family back to my grandma’s house, we passed a lake and a wooded area. My grandma was telling us stories about how she and my grandpa used to pack a picnic on the weekends or after work in the summer, go swimming in the lake and then have a picnic together.  This got me to thinking how fun it would be to start doing more picnics outside in the parks near us now that the weather is starting to get a little bit warmer.

The only times we picnic these days is when we do Movies in the Park with our friends. A picnic seems so simple and easy to do, and it is a great way to not spend much money but have a romantic date.  It is also a nice way to have a long relaxing lunch, enjoy the outdoors and people watch.

Whether you are picnicking in a park, on a lake or an ocean, by a river, in the woods, in a prairie or even in your own yard, you only need a few items to have a nice and comfortable picnic.  And in my opinion, it is best to start with the food!  I think fresh fruit, cheese and sandwiches are great picnic foods, although you can run the gamut when picking out what food you would like to bring with.

Image

Next you need to be sure to bring drinks.  Water is always a good necessity to have and if you are celebrating I would personally also bring along some red wine (although any beverage would do!).

Image

It is important to also remember to bring cups, utensils and napkins for eating with (and a bottle opener if needed).

Image

And if you happen to have a cute basket to bring along (like my future sister-in-law), it is the perfect way to carry all of your food.  And other good items to bring along are blankets and pillows (so that you are comfortable of course!).

Image

And a cutting board would also come in handy if you are going to be slicing cheese or cutting any fruits and vegetables…

Image

And whether you are on a date or just with friends, it is nice to have some company along with you as well.

Image

Or just a really great book would also do if you are picnicking on your own…

Image

Image

An umbrella would be a nice addition if it is going to be a hot and sunny day.

Image

And if you are lucky enough to picnic by the water (like my grandparents were), then you should also be sure to bring your swimsuits and towels.

Image

Image

And a great mode of transportation to carry all of these items is important too! (My mode of transportation will likely be my strong hubby, but this car below or even a bike works nicely also…).

Image

Do you picnic often or are you planning to do many picnics this summer?!?  I will report back after my first picnic and let you know how it goes!

2 thoughts on “Picnicking

  1. Those pictures are so gorgeous! I didn’t even think about the necessity of a designated picnic blanket. Now I’m really looking forward to the warmer weather.

Leave a Reply

