light filled spaces · relaxing interior · yoga

Yoga and Tranquility

I just started a Monday night yoga class (courtesy of my work, thank you!). And I just realized that yoga on a Monday is such a relaxing, amazing way to start your week (and end your work day). I have been doing yoga on and off for many years, but I really enjoyed the class I went to because the instructor had us hold our poses for so long and slowly work through learning the movements. It was very rejuvenating and I felt like my body was getting longer and leaner with each pose. I was imagining myself looking like this…

Image

Or this…

Image

And on a beach…

Image

Although the scenery of my yoga class was not quite like being on the beach or near water, it did have a tranquil setting. The ambiance of the room for my class was equally soothing as it was a nice big, open space with bamboo floors and floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the other high rises in the downtown area. During my poses, I would focus on steam that was slowly rolling out of one of the adjacent buildings which helped to keep me still and steady. And speaking of calming spaces, as I seem to have them in my mind this week, I thought I would share a few with you all. Because after a rejuvenating yoga class, it would be also amazing to come home and unwind in a relaxing and comfortable sanctuary (don’t you think!?!).

Simplicity. There is just something about a quietly simple, bright and airy space which is free of clutter that is so soothing. Like this gorgeous interior below.

Image

Natural light and outdoor breeze. By bringing in as much natural light as possible and the cool breeze and sounds of the outdoors, an interior feels closer to nature and will in turn be more calming.

Image

Cool colors. Cobalt, lavender, pale blue, and mauve make for a cool and calming bedroom against the white backdrop and daylight.

Image

Remove the color clutter. And provide different textures to create contrast. Like this bathroom so beautifully does. Isn’t it divine?!?

Image

Add greenery. A little bit of greenery goes a long way and creates a naturally peaceful and serene atmosphere.

Image

Have an outdoor area. Any will do. But this one below is particularly nice. I will settle for it.

Image

I don’t know about you, but I woke up on this Tuesday morning feeling refreshed and relaxed and ready to take on the rest of the week!

Image

Leave a Reply

