bedrooms · Color · dining · Fashion · Jewelry · neon · yellow

Neon Yellow

Lately I am loving the color: neon yellow.  And maybe it is just me, but I seem to be seeing it everywhere lately.  Back in the day, in an Economics class I took, I remember learning a theory about the color yellow, that seeing the color yellow pop up  in more places (like on a woman’s dress for instance) is a sign of a strong economy.  Now, I honestly cannot say for certain whether I am remembering this theory accurately at all–I mean as a design student, I would sometimes get so bored that I would fall asleep in my Econ class, so it is very likely that I just fell asleep one day and dreamt that my professor had all of a sudden related Econ to color…but I digress.  Either way, the color yellow reminds me of sunshine and happy days and when it becomes so intense that it can be deemed NEON, it works amazingly as a striking accent.

Anyways, back to my story about the color yellow popping up everywhere. I swear I have been seeing it everywhere these days (or so it seems).

I have been seeing it indoors…

Like painted on these gorgeous, bright yellow, high gloss doors.  A little bit of a statement color (like yellow), goes a LONG way.

Image

And on furniture and fixtures, like this awesome dining room with a yellow chandelier, table and chairs.  The variety of surfaces in this space casts a beautiful, luminous, yellow glow.  P.S. do you love the french doors and decorative metal balcony as much as I do?

Image

While this bedroom is not exactly neon, it is blatantly yellow and I could not stop looking at it.  Plus, I have been on the market for a gorgeous fabric to utilize as a headboard, and I thought this was an interesting selection.  I also enjoyed the variety of textures in the bedding and…that breakfast in bed, yes please!

Image

I have also been spying yellow outdoors…

Like on all of the sunlit yellow flowers and plants that keep popping up everywhere.

And lastly, back to the Econ theory, I have been noticing it on people…

Like on this cute sweater from Madewell.

Image

Or on this vivid yellow maxi skirt…

Image

Or these cute statement piece necklaces.  Because seriously, nothing makes a statement like yellow does.

Image

Image

What do you think?!? Are you a fan of it too? I can tell you one thing, there is nothing like bright, caffeinated yellow to jumpstart your Wednesday morning…

Image

One thought on “Neon Yellow

Leave a Reply

