windows

Black win-dows

Lately I have been reading many books, articles and blogs about nutrition, food and health.  The most recent book discussed how many problems such as exhaustion, aches and pains, or even poor skin are the direct result of what you put into your body.  And if you eat the right foods (more discussion to be had on what the ”right” foods will be addressed another day), your internal organs will be healthier and the other problems will melt away, removing the need for caffeine, coffee, Tylenol, Advil, face creams and so on and so forth.  Or so they say.  But this made me think of how a cosmetic fix can only go so far without reinventing the wheel, and you need to have good bones and a good structure to begin with (especially when you are trying to be eco-friendly and reuse and recycle).

While many factors contribute to an anatomically healthy home, such as a functional floor plan, properly insulated walls, a structurally sound site, and the list goes on and on…somewhere down that list is the windows.  And while windows are typically not the first thing a buyer or renter may look at, I think it should be.  Mainly because I want to tell you about how much I adore black, metal, factory-style windows.  And I want an excuse to blab on about how beautiful I think they are.  And I want to chat with you about how easily they can be paired with a rustic ceiling and vintage, modern or transitional furniture, or even a traditional space.  And I would like to keep talking and blogging about how much intrigue, interest and stunning detail they provide–

But instead of continuing to go on and on about how much I love ’em, I am going to share some of my favorite ‘window’ images to try and persuade you to like them too.  Drum roll please…

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

And let me end my love fest with black metal windows on this amazingly stunning New York penthouse that was featured in Architectural Digest…(I mean seriously, even the little golden retriever is in heaven…).

Image

Image

And if you happen to have the luxury of actually having these beautiful windows in your home, it must feel like you’ve won the lottery to have those windows run floor-to-ceiling and open onto your monster-sized terrace…

Image

Phew. That was a lot to get through.  Are you still there?!?  Did your Google Reader stop loading or did your internet browser bust?  What do you think, do you LOVE these black, metal, factory-style windows as much as I do?

P.S. it is Wednesday, and it is my best friend Sarah’s birthday AND she just had a beautiful baby girl this week!  Lets go send her some love on her cute blog, The Doomar Diaries.

5 thoughts on “Black win-dows

  1. I’m currently restoring my garage studio and love all your photos of factory windows. Do you have a suggestion of where I could locate these types of windows to install?

Leave a Reply

